Persons eligible to receive Zakaat.

Q. Who is eligible to receive Zakaat?

A. Anyone from the eight categories of Muslims which has been mentioned in the Holy Quran can receive Zakaat. They are:

1) The poor
2) The needy
3) Those employed to collect Zakaah on behalf of the Islamic state
4) Those whose hearts have been recently reconciled to Islam
5) Those in debt
6) Those who are in the cause of Allah
7) The traveller
8) To free the captives.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Waseem Khan