Making of noni juice.

Q. The making of noni (a fruit) starts with putting the fruit in a glass bottle in the sun for a period of 2 months or so. Would this be halal for drinking and would the juice now become wine or not?

A. Based on our knowledge the extract from the noni does not become intoxicating (wine) after being placed in the sun for the period of 2 months. Hence, it will be permissible (halal) to consume.

If for some reason or the other (e.g. by putting other ingredients), it becomes intoxicating, then it will not be permissible to consume it.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Waseem Khan