Consuming Kosher meat.

Q. Is it permitted for Muslims to consume Kosher (Jewish) certified meat (a) in a country like Trinidad where Halaal meat is easily available and (b) in a country like Venezuela where Halaal meat may not be easily available? Are there any conditions that must be fulfilled for Kosher meat to be consumed by Muslims if it is permissible?

A. With respect to the issue of ‘Kosher’ meat, the majority of scholars have stated that it is not halaal for Muslims to consume.

Based on investigations which were done by many leading scholars, it was revealed that the Jewish slaughterer would say the name of God on the first animal and on the last animal. They would not say it on every animal, which is a law in Islam. This, according to the Jews, is in accordance to their laws. For example, if they are slaughtering ten animals, they would say prayers on the first one and on the tenth one, and would say nothing on all the other animals between.

If a Muslim cannot access halaal meat, then one can consume fish or vegetables or even go to the slaughterer house to slaughter an animal himself or may do it personally at his home.

With respect to the conditions which must be fulfilled, it is necessary that the same conditions highlighted by the Islamic law be met in order that the kosher meat be consumed by Muslims.

These conditions are:
1) The name of Allah must be recited on every animal when it is being slaughtered
2) Under normal circumstances, it is necessary to make the blood flow by cutting the required vessels
3) The slaughterer must be a Muslim or from the people of the Book in the true sense of the term, who follows the guidelines given to them in their scriptures regarding slaughtering, which are identical to the Islamic law.

And Allah knows best.

Mufti Waseem Khan