Category Archives: Questions and Answers

Is G&M Foods LTD Halaal

Question: Assalaamualikum. First of all, may Allah (SWT) reward you all immensely for ensuring that Muslims eat halaal food in Trinidad and Tobago. I saw in the groceries for a long time now that G&M Foods have the “Halal” sign on it and also I have heard many rumors that they may be halal but I wanted to be sure so I am asking you. Is G&M Foods LTD halaal? JazakAllahKhair.

 

 

Answer: Assalamu Alaikum

No the Gand M Foods are not considered halaal.

Imam Sheraz Ali

chinese

Question: Salaams, there is a candy by the name of ‘ yums’ from’ candy land’ produced in Pakistan by Ismail products and it has ‘ halal’ gelatin in it. Is it really halal?

 

Answer: Assalamu Alaikum,

Yes, Candyland products are approved as permissible by us.
Imam Sheraz Ali
Nur-e-Islam.

Hyaluronic Injection

Question: Is it permissible to take an injection of hyaluronic acid, also called synvisc injection for severe arthritis pain in the knees. The hyaluronic acid comes from the Chicken Comb. Jaza -Kallah.


Answer:

Assalamu Alaikum,

Yes, it is permissible to use the Synvisc injection for arthritis.

And Allah Knows Best.

Mufti Waseem Khan.

4/1/2014

Meaning Behind Halaal Certification of Chicken

Question: Salam dear mufti,

I have a question. As you may know, chicken are injected with steroids so that they can grow faster to meet the mass demand of the public. I was wondering, once certified halal, does this mean that the chicken do not contain steroids? Does this mean that the meat is pure from any sorts of steroids or other harmful chemicals? Thank you so much for your time. May Allah grant you goodness in this life and the life hereafter. Ameen.


Answer:

Wa Alaikum As Salaam,

Once the chicken is certified Halaal, it means that it is lawful for consumption and does not contain any Haraam substance or matter in it. It is possible that the meat may contain steroids even after it is slaughtered. However, according to many food scientists, this is negligible and not harmful for human consumption. In this regard, studies conducted by Cornell University (Sprecher Institute for Comparative Cancer Research) reveal the following: ‘The amount of steroid hormone that is eaten through meat of a treated animal is negligible compared to what the human body produces each day.’ It writes further: ‘Studies done so far do not provide evidence to state that hormone residues in meat or dairy products cause any human health effects.’ (From the material prepared by Renu Gadhi, Ph.D BCERF Research Associate and Suzanne M. Suedeker Ph.D Research Project Leader, BCERF (Program on Breast Cancer and Environmental Risk Factors BCERF) – envirocancer.cornell.edu).

The above research shows that such meats are not harmful for human consumption. Also, there isn’t anything that will make such meats haram once the guidelines of Islamic slaughtering have been met.

And Allah Knows best.

Mufti Waseem Khan.

1/1/2014

Ethiopian Injera

Question: Asalaamu alaikum. Is ethiopian injera halal?


Answer: Assalamu Alaikuum,

Yes This traditional African soughdough bread is halaal. In some cases during fermentation of the dough,alcohol can be formed, however this will quickly evaporate during cooking of the bread.

D.U.H.C

Cure Wonder Slimmer

Question: Is the Cure wonder slimmer halaal?


Answer: The ingredients used in the Sure Cure Wonder Slimmer tablets are Halaal. However, the capsule I gelatin based. The ingredients can be removed from within the capsul and use separately.

Imam Sheraz Ali.

D.U.H.C

Coconut Bread With Vanilla Essence

Q: Assalamualikum

Mufti Sb coconut bread that has in vanilla essence, pleae note vanilla essence has in some percentage of alcohol can consume by muslims.
and if you have any audio recordings of late M.Shabil lectures you can send to this my email. also JAZ.


A: Assalamu Alaikum,

There are many brands of vanilla essence which contain a small amount of alcohol, but there are some brands which are free from alcohol. The small amount of alcohol in this essence will be evaporated by the baking process, therefore this product will be considered as halaal.

Imam Sheraz Ali

D.U.H C